Why crack an egg, underwater?

 

A couple of people have asked me, why would you want to crack an egg under water?

And the answer is …….. To show the affects of pressure.

On an Advance Open Water course students get to go beyond the magic 18mtrs, (60ft) allowed to them as an Open Water diver, and on the course we take them to about 20-25mtrs (65-80ft) and to show the effects of pressure, we take a couple of toys.

A tennis ball, will almost flatten, at 20mtrs, an empty bottle, filled with air at the bottom and bought to the surface, with it’s top on, will burst on the way up! (This is to demonstrate why you never hold your breath!)

egg (2)

The egg, provided, it’s open carefully, and there’s no current, will stay egg shaped! (Until the fish realise it’s edible!)

Footnote: I don’t condone feeding fish, for this reason…. there was a family group, of Napoleon or Humphead Wrasse, a  beautiful fish that grows to about 10 feet, in the Red Sea, which were fed cooked eggs by divers, it was estimated, that the family group in the diving season would get around 400 eggs A DAY!! That group ALL died!

 

Napoleon Wrasse

So there you have it!

Note for Bob …I have personally cracked three or four eggs on courses, uncooked ones are not always available and the trick loses, the wow factor with a cooked one!

This entry was posted in Diving. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why crack an egg, underwater?

  1. FATMAN says:

    Naplolean Wrasse are one my favorite fish, probably because I like large fish hahah bu seriously fish feeding is bad, especially bread which people like to take from restaurants and then dive with… Only thinking of the fact they will attract fish and not how it affects them.

  2. Mandy says:

    Yup .. I agree wholeheartedly, FL

  3. Douglas says:

    Wonderful article Mandy-Toots. Enjoyed reading it and the pictures. I also learned something new about the egg.

  4. Happy says:

    Thank-you Mandxx for post. This obvious answer eluded me. Also info re. what we feed to wildlife. Have happy Sunday.

  5. Jen says:

    @Douglas: …and are you gonna blog about it?

  6. Tracey says:

    Cool – l know l\’m always pretty impressed with how my breasts look underwater! They seem so much higher! lol

  7. Mandy says:

    LOL Tracey……. it\’s why women dive ……… and men!

  8. Tracey says:

    LOL where nature intended them – before the pesky gravity did its work!

  9. Douglas says:

    Hahahahah— hahahahaha— hahahaha, Tacy you likked me….

  10. Douglas says:

    <Killed> Me… Sorry, laughing too hard.

  11. Douglas says:

    Jen;I don\’t know. I learned how to scuba-dive when I was in the truck islands long time ago, back in my blustery days of protecting the world when I was in the Air Force.I would have to be re-certified by now. But, out here in Deadwood, there is really no large bodies of water for me to explore. Unless you\’re talking about septic tanks. Man, there\’s a topic. But after all, I am the kind of guy that can dive into a septic tank and come up with two gold wrist watches, and smell like a bed of roses in doing so — After all, we\’re talking about the kid here, right?

  12. FATMAN says:

    Diving in septic tanks… We had a very messy sewage out fall at Newquay years ago but it was where all the fish would go to feed.. Put you off certain types of fish… Although there are plenty of bottom feeders in the human world hahha.. But back to the story.. I went snorkling on an out going tide to avoid the sewage as the out going sea swept it away from the inshore… Yuck.. just in case you thought I liked bathing in Poo, and my Buddy, Andy and I saw lots of nice fish.. But on returning to the rocks I noticed he had picked up a friend.. A contaceptive was hanging over the hood of his wetsuit.. I shall not tell you what we all called him from then on…

  13. Jen says:

    @The Fatman: Some people are born to suffer, aren\’t they! Poor bloke!

Leave a comment