New desktop – Great video – MotoGP – House sale

 

desktop (2)

I thought I’d give you a look at my new desktop picture, I’m showing you because I wanted to put on a video of the second largest aquarium in the world! But nasty little spaces won’t allow me to, not the original nor the one posted on YouTube, because of that nasty little Javascript thingy!! Damn!

So I’ll have to just post a link and hope the picture entices you to take a look! 

“The main tank, in the picture, called the "Kuroshio Sea" holds 7,500-cubic meters (1,981,290 gallons) of water and features the world’s second largest acrylic glass panel, measuring 8.2 mtrs by 22.5 mtrs with a thickness of 60 cms. Whale sharks and manta rays are kept amongst many other fish species in the main tank.”

The fish you can see in this picture, Giant Manta Ray

Whale-Shark and diver3 whale sharks, youngsters, I suspect, as they grow to 30 mtrs, Yellow tails, Manta, Sting Ray, Thresher shark, Sergeant Major Fish, Spotted Rays, Jacks and a lot I don’t know the names of. Not forgetting the well known but lesser spotted, Homo Rubbery Scubias

On the video, you’ll see a LOT more! There’s never be a moment when you’d see all this in one go…….. just wouldn’t happen, not in my wildest dreams, and trust me I have some wild dreams! This would be Nirvana, or El Dorado and Atlantis all rolled into one! But I have seen/dived with quite a lot of these, Mantas, Whale shark, sharks, Rays Jacks, Tuna to name but a few. This video gives you an idea what it would be like

When you think of what we are doing to our planet, it’s resources and wildlife, THIS is what we a slowly destroying, for instance nearly 5,000,000 (yes, I do mean million) sharks are killed each year, along with whales, dolphins, turtles, and the list goes on…. and on. It just has to stop!

  Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium (Let the video fully load, ie: press play then pause, let it load, then play again otherwise it can be a bit jumpy. Beautiful music by Barcelona – “Please Don’t Go”)

__________

Donnington

MotoGP Group in action in DoningtonManaged to get home in time to see the MotoGP from Donnington on Sunday, I’ve missed most of the other races because of work. So was looking forward to catching the British Grand Prix. 

With rain threatening to wash the track, not making the decision any easier whether or not to put on wet weather tyres,  it promised to be a good race – and I wasn’t disappointed. Early leader, Elias, and Jorge Lorenzo, crashed and burned, (or at least sparked!) after touching, the slippery white rumble strip. The Doctor, Valentino Rossi, was in the lead when on the 19th lap, the bike slid out from under him, luckily neither he nor the bike seriously hurt, he picked it up and battled back to finish 5th, just pipping Toseland into 6th!  Leaving Dovizioso the winner.

Valentino Rossi riding ahead of Andrea Dovizioso in British GP

These are such cool photos!

__________

And Finally

Yes AND FINALLY, some one’s made an offer on my house!

Had 3 viewers yesterday, after the Grand Prix was finished, the second viewer here for a second time, made me an offer just £5000 below asking price. Which is pretty good in these times, they have to sell their homes (they have one each, but don’t have to sell both) so it’s still all in the lap of the gods!

The third viewer, also made an offer, but having asked me at the time “in light of all the work that needs doing downstairs ……. “ I wasn’t expecting a very good one! The estate agent phoned this morning, the offer was £30,000 below asking price – I’m too much of a lady to repeat verbatim, what I said to the estate agent but it was something like “ You’re having a little joke with me aren’t you!”

Oh the work that needs doing downstairs? It needs a handbasin in the downstairs loo,

at the very most £200 worth!!

So now I just have to go find somewhere to live ………

Anyone got a spare room?

 

Breaking News!! Another offer (as of 1700hrs) – the same as the first, but with no chain – nothing to sell!

NOW that’s what you call London Buses!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New desktop – Great video – MotoGP – House sale

  1. Jen says:

    lesser spotted, Homo Rubbery Scubias: Hah, hah! That\’s fantastic. I will watch the film, I promise. and I didn\’t know you were into bike racing. Have to look some of that up, too. And your comment can be condensed into six words, rather than the nine you wrote! I know what the quote is, too. Lady? Who, ME? You must know better\’n that by now. XLNT blog, Mandy. Thank yoyu.

  2. Jen says:

    I just woke up (slumped in the chair for \’bout an hour. Played the vid on TG\’s site and realised it was your one. Stunning. I\’ll have another go from here…

  3. Mandy says:

    LOL I know the feeling! Jen, did you watch it in HD? Since I was a teenager, I\’ve loved bikes Family etc took over then, after splitting with my ex, met a guy, with a sports bike, who got me started again, the another new friend, with another sports bike, (both red luckily as I have black and red leathers) kept me at it – have a couple of pics from BSB in one of my albums from Brands, last year.LOL I guess makes the two of us Ladies then!!

  4. Technogran says:

    Yes we aren\’t doing such a good job of being the \’caretakers\’ of this planet Mandy are we?

  5. Jen says:

    No. You have to be signed in to grab the HD version which can be downloaded if you\’re a member of vimeo. But this link is more than adequate. It\’s a beautiful film. If you want, either go back there and see that guy\’s vid on cloud formations, or go to the blog I wrote the other day describing the storm I saw and pick up the link to it from there. My blog link is: http://thoughtsonthings.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!6D498B83A72B54F!7028.entryThe last comment of mine in there carries the cloud link to his film.

  6. Jen says:

    None of us have mentioned your house sale. Good luck with it, Mandy. We have a caravan in the garden…bit decrepit, but, well, t\’would keep you off the streets!Is that a good thing? (Oops! I\’ve blurbed again. Runs and hides…)

  7. Mandy says:

    Sorry crashed early and slept like a baby last night, so missed your comments – Jen Caravan sounds good – and big slap coming your way hehehehe!

  8. Mandy says:

    @ TG Yeah we are really stuffing things up in places, if you dive in the Med you\’re lucky to see any fish!

  9. Jen says:

    You sound like Steve Bumfrey (radio Norfolk) at Breakfast;-)Morning (ouch!)

  10. Mandy says:

    LOL Morning Jen !

  11. Happy says:

    Whoa, got back up and finished 5th. Must remember that when I am behaving like a bit of a cry baby. Was not aware you were selling home. Congrats! on offers and it\’s amazing what some people will offer. Or not. Hope it\’sa smooth sale.

  12. Technogran says:

    Good luck with the sale Mandy!

  13. Mandy says:

    Thanks TG, it seems to be going ahead, but am not yet holding my breath! All I need now is somewhere to live!!

  14. Mandy says:

    Happy – you should see these guys, they come off at speeds of over 100 miles an hour, slide, bounce, tumble, for a hundred yards, alongside bike, then get up and walk away!!!! It really makes you wince!Good morning!!

  15. Happy says:

    Just a quick hop through space before a mtg. Keep meaning to view aquarium…then just sat and looked at motorcycle race pictures again. When visiting this space, am reminded how few physical risks/skills were my lot in this lifetime and just courage of some to be at such an angle (& trust physics) and zoom through space! Quite amazing. I get tired riding the bus. LOL. Anyhoo…must jaunt.

  16. Mandy says:

    It\’s never too late Happy. There are other ways to take risks other than physical, I have no problem being on the back of a bike cornering like that, but you getting your book published ……… way beyond my risk taking abilities.

Leave a Reply

