40 years ago today

Photobucket

I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing, that day! 17 years old, in my first job as a draughtswoman, working on drawings, for a machine, that would be one of the Endeavour, last week, courtesy of a RL friend there on holidaybiggest benefits to mankind, since sliced bread, ie: automated teller machines. I stepped out for lunch and the TV shop across the road, had the moon landing on 3 of their biggest screens.(probably 24”!!!) I watched enthralled, as silently Neil Armstrong took that one small step! Silently because, I couldn’t hear what he was saying through the plate glass window!

And one of the biggest controversies was born (second only to who shot Kennedy and was Elvis actually seen in a supermarket in Coventry) – did they or didn’t they?

From fluttering flags, on an airless surface, to camera cross hairs, behind the subject being photographed, conspiracy theories abound. That is that Nasa intentionally deceived the public into believing the landings occurred by manufacturing,  or tampering with evidence, including photos, transmissions, and rock samples; and that the deception continues to this day.  Theorists point to pictures and film saying things like the dust is wrong, the motion of the walking men at half Earth Gravity, is wrong, take off was wrong.

 

The facts are – that there was plenty of independent evidence, that the landing DID take place.

Goonhilly’s (Cornwall) and Parkes’ (Australia) role in relaying video, and radio signal whilst America wasn’t able to pick up either, would have been difficult to impossible to fake. Too many people involved!

For me, it was a fantastic era to be growing up in, those too young to remember, our ventures into Space, missed the most thrilling of times, and I never doubted for a minute that is was true! We (our generation) are pioneers and adventurers and risk takers, and I’m glad I was there to witness it!

Below are photo’s taken last year, by the Lunar ReconnaissanceFile:369234main lroc apollo11labeled 256x256.jpg Orbiter, showing the lunar module ……  pretty much, puts paid to the doubters!

 

 

 

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Moon_Landing_hoax_conspiracy_theories

http://www.parkes.atnf.csiro.au/news_events/apollo11/

http://www.thisisthewestcountry.co.uk/news/cornwall_news/4486143.Goonhilly_marks_role_in_Moon_landing_broadcast/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 40 years ago today

  1. Jen says:

    I used to love watching Apollo when I was a kid. Then, it suddenly stopped getting aired on TV and I missed it for ages, until things all started up again with the Shuttle! Such brilliance.

  2. Tim says:

    Just heard on the radio that 20% of Americans do not believe that we have actually been there (not at that point in time anyway). It stated that many think it was all a media ploy for the cold war (space race) with Russia. Personally, I believe it did happen 40 years ago.

  3. Mandy says:

    Yes me too Jen, always have been fascinated by the thought of space travel – I hope I\’m still alive and able to be able to try it when it becomes a commercial possibilityTim – I think if the Russians could have proved it was a fake, they would have been trying their best to do so! Yet they couldn\’t!

  4. Phoenix says:

    I watched the Endeavour launch live on the morning news last week and couldn\’t get over how unimpressed the hosts seemed to be. I remember watching cartoons the morning of the Challenger Disaster. I was watching Maya the Bee and it was cut to go to the News Flash. That was \’86.The conspiracy theories about not landing on the moon are really weak and just don\’t hold up at all. The people who come up with them generally don\’t have any knowledge about stuff like film sets and photography let alone space travel. They give skeptics a bad name because what they\’re doing isn\’t being a skeptic – it\’s pursuing a delusion in spite of the evidence.

  5. Mandy says:

    Yeah I remember Challenger too Pheonix, have that pic burned in the memory, luckily Endeavour went with out problems! I guess while launches are still not everyday occurrences, they are now fairly commonplace, so don\’t generate so much awe!But the doubters will probably say the Orbiter Pics are faked too!

  6. Jen says:

    What was that funny little machine (unmanned) that crawled around Mars in the 80\’s? That was fascinating to watch:-)

  7. Mandy says:

    here\’s one still trundling around up there now Jen, watched a program the other day about it – apparently it exceeded expectations a hundred fold – was only supposed to last a year and is still going strong several years on!

  8. Jen says:

    Wow! I didn\’t know that. Gimme a name to Bing when you\’ve time. Night, night:-)

  9. BP says:

    I can even remember exactly where I was living at the time, I believe it was at the Great Lakes Naval training Center in Illinois. I do know that I was just about to turn five years old. It seemed surreal and it wasn\’t until later I understood the magnitude of the event.I have often told my nephew and niece about gathering around the television to watch that historic event. I\’m sure glad my parents made sure we didn\’t miss it.Initially I just dropped by to say hello, but I couldn\’t resist.Unfortunately I can\’t write more because my microphones giving me fits, but hopefully I\’ll be back tomorrow.

  10. Mandy says:

    @ Jen – Mars Exploration Rover – http://marsrover.nasa.gov/home/index.html , there\’s 2 little rovers STILL trundling about gone way past warrantee!

  11. Jen says:

    Morning, Mandy! Thank you muchly:-)

  12. Mandy says:

    You\’re welcome Jen – going off now – work – DOH!

  13. Jen says:

    Oh, poor you. Take a brolly! Sees ya later.

  14. Mandy says:

    @Billy Paul – wow you\’ve made me feel a little ancient now! Hope the Mike gets fixed – nice to see you back!

  15. Happy says:

    When I read yesterday I could not comment. I think the enormity of what achieved just suddenly amazed me speechless. Thank you for post. Like all the links and reminder of the oddness of the controversy. Guess the skeptics will just have to go and see if flag is there. LOL

  16. Mandy says:

    When I thought about it, Happy it struck me that way too, what they did 40 years ago – was mind boggling and they did it without all the super computing we have today!If/when they get a trip to see the flag – I\’d give my eye teeth to be on it too!

  17. BP says:

    I had no intention of making it the old. You look damn good to me. In fact, I really like the new picture.

  18. Mandy says:

    Aaaww Billy you\’re making me blush now!!

  19. Peter says:

    Ohh Mandy, I remember staying up all night glued to the TV just waiting for the momentous first step, but it kept getting delayed. Then, finally it happened, it\’s one of those things that you know where you were at the time and never forget. I\’ve latterly been in communication with someone at the JPL NASA who was able to show me additional survey photo\’s which very clearly show the lander, the flag, the footprints etc etc. Hoax ? I don\’t think so.

  20. Mandy says:

    Yeah Pete those pics aren\’t so clear, as that, got them off the NASA web site. Oh it definitely wasn\’t a hoax!

  21. Dave says:

    Ah, the quaint old days of space travel, I remember it well! When you consider that the operation room\’s total computing power would fit into 4 mobile phones these days, it\’s an even more remarkable feat.I know that there are arguements now about the reasons behind it all, and the politics and the money and the ecology etc., but that doesn\’t take away one jot from the achievement itself.And as for it being a hoax, that\’s easily disproved by simply going along to your local observatory on a suitable open day and looking! I\’ve seen the stuff they left behind. And anyway, surely if it had been a hoax they would have done it better!

  22. Dave says:

    P.S. For all that, I\’m STILL waiting for my personal jetpack. I was promised!!!!!!!!

  23. Peter says:

    The big question now, is will we be around for the Mars landings ?????? and if so, I\’m assured by my NASA friend that any TV coverage would be spectacular to say the least……..albeit very, very delayed because of the distance.

  24. Mandy says:

    Me too Dave! It was amazing – and i would still give my eye teeth for a chance to go into space!

  25. Mandy says:

    @Pete – I hope so – I really hope so!

Leave a Reply

