Finally … something to write ……A poem – Just Occasionally

Just Occasionally

Can some one turn back time for me?

There’s things I forgot to do you see,

I forgot to pat my kids on the head

and maybe kiss them on the way to bed,

just occasionally!

I have lost the time to tell mum,

how glad I am she let me come,

into this bright and brave new place.

She showed me how to live with grace.

At least occasionally!

The time has gone, to tell my dad,

how I strived to make him glad.

That his third girl, was not a boy

and hope that I still brought him joy,

Just occasionally!

The time is lost to tell last boss

That my leaving was his loss,

That critique should be rehashed

into praise and also, cold hard cash,

  At least occasionally!

The time is now, it’s gone so fast

I have to shrug at all that’s past

And hope the future, will bring me time

To say the thing that’s on my mind

Just occasionally!mum dad me, 1959ish, Ghana

Mandxx

With apologies to W H Davies

whose poem I still remember having learnt it at school.

Leisure

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.
No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.
No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.
No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.
No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.
No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.
A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

This entry was posted in Poetry/ditties. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Finally … something to write ……A poem – Just Occasionally

  1. Jen says:

    Both are exquisite, Mand. Wish I could say more but we have "scary movies"-type weather. I must clear off!So glad you wrote. Like I said earlier. Let it rip, sometimes. Well done.

  2. Mandy says:

    Thankyou Jen, you are too kind, weather\’s ok here!

  3. Robin says:

    Hi Mandy,Sorry it has been so long since I stopped by, I really enjoyed these poems especially the first one.Very nice, thank\’s for sharing ! I hope all is well for you…Take care,Robin

  4. Jen says:

    This is the first time I\’ve ever seen the "Leisure" poem in full. Usually, people only ever quote the first two lines! Your own poem (Just Occasionally) is full of emotion. I truly loved reading it. Well, from a very grey beginning, we now have clearing skies so I\’d better catch up with things around here. Having a good day today. If I do some work, I\’ll finish quicker. (Well, that\’s the theory). Have a great day, Mand.

  5. Mandy says:

    Thanks Jen, it\’s a poem that\’s been rolling around my head for a while and yesterday I just sat and finished it! I learnt Leisure in school, and it was one of those things that stuck with me, and sort of inspired my poem. I have a lazy day today, and the sun is shining, at the mo anyway!You have a good one too!

  6. Mandy says:

    Robin it\’s always nice to get a visit, and your GB comments make me smile! Glad you enjoyed the poems …..Have a great day!

  7. FATMAN says:

    Lovely Poem Mandxx, hope you have a lovely dayD XX

  8. Mandy says:

    Thank you Don. you too!

  9. Tim says:

    Very nice poems full of true meaning. Very inspiring.

  10. Mandy says:

    Thank you Tim! Just a small look at me!

  11. Tracey says:

    Very nice Mand. l like it. Loss, yes, but learning too. At least that\’s what l got from it. Learn to not put off saying what we want and how we feel and appreciating those we love. The second poem – l like stuff like that. l think people must think l\’m dimwitted the way l stop all the time to LOOK. LOLYou broke your blogging block!!! Woo!

  12. Mandy says:

    Spot on Trace, The opportunity to say those things has now gone, (kids too tall to pat on head, though always a kiss and an I love you, when I see them!) It\’s also to remind me NOT to let people (ex boss) take advantage!

  13. Sean says:

    Very nice Mandxx, thanks for the read. I\’m going to go back to your page and laugh at those divers with a Great White looming behind them!

  14. Happy says:

    So feel the regret/meditation of \’Just Occasionally\’ and who/where we give attention, or failure to do so. Like the rhythym of lines when read aloud, sort of lullabyish. Thank you for sharing poem and reminder I actively make time to attend.

  15. Mandy says:

    Thankyou Happy ……..

  16. Flufy says:

    Hope you dont mind but I just wandered over fom slims place (fatmans). Just occasionally is a wonderful poem. Never heard it before and I think it\’ll stay with me for a long time. Thank you.

  17. Mandy says:

    Thank you Fluffy – you wouldn\’t have heard it, before I only finished writing it the day it was published ! Glad you like it!

  18. Cynical says:

    I can\’t recall what song "Occasionally" reminds me of, but I find myself sort of humming/singing it rather than simply reading it. It hits a universal chord, I believe. Like many others, much more of my life has passed than remains and that turns ones attention to the past and regrets. I can\’t really say I have terrible regrets, but I do have a profound sadness that I didn\’t or couldn\’t do everything for everyone that I felt I wanted to or should have done. Now you have me thinking, and that\’s always an iffy sort of thing.Peace, Doc

  19. Technogran says:

    Wonderful poem Mandxx that I think we can all relate to, especially the first one. It was very emotional for me. When we lose loved ones such as our parents, we regret all those things we didn\’t do……….. love it

  20. Mandy says:

    Thanks TG, I miss my mum every day, my dad not so much! I always felt I was a disapointment to him! Noyt being a boy, so was the next best thing a TOMBOY!

  21. Mandy says:

    Doc, I have no real big regrets either – possibly, because I can\’t now remember them! Regrets are a waste of Time and Tears! (Willie Nelson – I think!)

  22. Happy says:

    Came back to read/appreciate second page; so agree, life needs time for observation. Thanks. Have a most fabulous week

  23. Mandy says:

    What, I wonder would Davies have thought, had he encountered computers when he wrote Leisure, everything whoooshing by in milliseconds?

Leave a Reply

