IBS help…….. is there any?

I’m reposting this, in the hope that someone, somewhere has the/an answer.

My symptoms, have gotten increasingly worse over the last few months, 3-4 nights a week of disturbed sleep, from the pain, followed by days of barely, being able to stay awake,

not a good combination when I’m at work. Depression, is, of course an added bonus!

I cut milk products out completely, a couple of months ago, that brought relief, for a few weeks,

but as always the symptoms return.

SO …….

This is a little bit of a cry for help…………

For about the last 4 years I have suffered GREATLY with

(sounds like a guilty confession!!! Embarrassed)

>>>IBS (D) <<<

Irritable Bowel Syndrome

and quite honestly am just about at the end of my, quite considerable tether. It still is a little known or talked about illness, which at best can be embarrassing, (wind … oh god the wind!!!) at worst debilitating, (and unfortunately mine is on the way to this) Causes are largely unknown but onset has been linked to emotional trauma such as bereavement, or stress, and it appears to run in families but there still seems to be little help from GPs and basically the individual is left through trial and error to find out what triggers, or helps, with the illness. Anti-spasmodic Drugs like Buscopan, can help some(I was taking about 8 a day, with a little relief), some antidepressants help, Let’s face it, you’d be depressed if you spent most of the morning on the loo! but mostly it’s short term and the good effects wear off!

And the real problem is ….

THERE IS NO ONE CURE THAT WORKS FOR EVERYBODY OR FOREVER!

hi-tech-funny-toilets-pictures

My new PC

People who neither suffer from it, nor know someone who does, don’t quite grasp what it’s all about ("So you have the sh*ts … take some immodium!!"….) Sleepless nights caused by abdominal pain, followed by a race to the loo, in the morning (several times) constant tiredness, depression, not knowing what to eat or what will set it off, bloating and of course let us not forget the farts!! (and/or burps!)

(how could anybody!!)

girl-farting-blowing-up-dress

Finding food triggers ..(OH JOY!!)

And the only way to do this is trial and error, cut out, one by one, what you think causes the worst of the symptoms

So far I’ve cut out … green veg, sweeteners, fizzy drinks with or without alcohol, coffee, white bread and now dairy products, all seem to help for a while!

SO ………..

if anybody has any advice or information, to offer please leave your suggestions, humorous (I could do with a laugh!) or otherwise, below!

 fart-thought-for-the-day

(or PM me)

For more information, including symptoms, treatments, etc. on IBS, both IBS and IBSD (with diarrhoea)

click on the IBS (D) link above!

Click link below for …..

>>IBS … Symptoms and causes<<

A few facts ……

Up to one in five English/Americans has IBS. IBS often begins before the age of 35, but it can start at any age. IBS seems to run in families–people with IBS often report having a family member with IBS. Most people diagnosed with IBS (up to 75 percent) are women. But, it is not known for sure that IBS affects more women than men. It may be that women are more likely to talk to their doctors about their symptoms.

IBS is not a disease and it does not cause cancer. IBS is a "functional" disorder, which means that the bowel doesn’t work as it should. The cause of IBS is not known, and there is no cure for IBS.

More Links

IBS …. symptoms and relief

The Gut Trust

Footnote, I’m unable to republish this through Livewriter, so I’m adding stuff as I go along,

please bear with me and the changes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to IBS help…….. is there any?

  1. Jen says:

    This is a horrible thing, Mand and I do remember your previous posting. My husband was told he had it once but I believe that was changed. He\’s now under a dietician but the \’nearby loo\’ issue was a terror for him some years\’ back. I\’ll see if I can get him to find some links to bung me, then I\’ll pass them on. But you should be getting advice from your Doctor, my love.

  2. Mandy says:

    I am Jen, they are as much at a loss to explain or help as anyone! I\’m at the point where, I don\’t know what to eat or drink, or what not to! I have been presribed, Buscopan, didn\’t help much and an anti-depressant, which also didn\’t help much.My point of posting this is it does reach places that may have seen some sort of breakthrough. That I and or my doctors haven\’t yet heard of!

  3. Jen says:

    I don\’t promise miracles, but leave this with me today and I\’ll see if I can get any web links to pass on.

  4. Aussie says:

    I think this problem is more prevalent than widely known , I think it comes on as we get older and that stress and depression can be a trigger ,I would have thought that keep eating such things as cheese has a benefit ,I eat a lot of cheese for my galloping osteoporosis and find it also has a side affect as a binding agent , just my thoughts , I wish you well dear friend and hope someone somewhere has an answerIan

  5. Mandy says:

    Thanks Ian, unfortunately some cheeses, come under the No Milk province, although I can get away with soft cheeses, like Brie, as long as I don\’t over do it! But any suggestion is worth a try!Who\’d have thought getting older would be such a pain in the butt!! (pardon the pun!)

  6. . says:

    At least you have a good sense of humor about this \’not so funny\’ condition. And don\’t even get me started with depression…that\’s a painful subject just by itself. Take care and wish you well and hope you can get some relief from this.PS You write very good blogs ;)Debi

  7. Mandy says:

    Thank you Debi, I\’m not sure yet the depression is a by product of the disorder or visa versa!Thank fully I\’m still able to laugh about it!

  8. Jen says:

    Right – here comes a long\’un. Excuse formatting!• Eat small frequent meals • Drink lots of fluid (8 – 10 servings daily) • Eat a high fiber diet. Click here for a list of high fiber foods. Your doctor may also suggest laxative with psyllium to alleviate constipation or reduce diarrhea • A low fat diet will also help to decrease contractions of the intestines right after meals • Limit caffeine, alcohol and sorbitol (a type of sweetener) as these may exacerbate symptoms. Click here for a list of food products containing sorbitol • Exclude gas-producing foods such as cabbage-family vegetables (broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower and brussels sprouts), dried peas and lentils, onions and chives, peppers and carbonated drinks • Avoid chewing gum as more air may be swallowed • If you have diarrhea right after eating dairy, you are probably only lactose intolerance. Some patients find peppermint helpful. Peppermint is a natural anti-spasmodic that relaxes smooth muscles in the intestines. If you are taking peppermint supplements, try the enteric coated capsules as they may cause heartburn. Be sure to discuss with your doctor before taking any herbal supplements.Site link is: http://www.healthcastle.com/ibs-diet.shtmlActually Mand, most of this advice was given to my husband, especially the small meals. “Little and often” was the motto and it worked with him. Try it if you haven’t already. Also, avoid foods rich in acid, like tomatoes and things like lemons, limes, oranges, etc.Just looked that one up. Want more?

  9. Mandy says:

    Thank you Jen, but most of this is already in my list of dos and don\’ts, I have had it for 4 or 5 years, and have gone through, most of your suggestions, trouble is, as I said in the blog, that almost everything works, but only for a while. I stopped eating green veggies (I love veg too so that was hard) stopped sweenteners, fizzy drinks, milk, fatty foods, eat (when I can, not always poss with work) little and often. White bread (but only eat wholemeal/granary about 2 slices a week) The only thing I haven\’t already tried on your list is peppermint!I\’m running out of things to cut out! Thanks for the info though!

  10. Jen says:

    Sorry Mand. You know, sometimes, when you look these things up, the sites only offer rubbish and "quick fix" pills which are only ever to do with people scamming money out of vulnerable people. I wanted to avoid that caper like, er, the plague. (Sorry!)Do you know the one about natural yoghurt? Pro-biotic is just a bit of a fancy name. Heard it was just a marketing ploy! Hubby swears by natural yoghurt. A couple of spoonfuls, here and there for when you\’re a bit below par and can\’t be doing with a meal. It seems to settle him down and make him feel more comfy inside, which is really all you folk ask, innit.

  11. Tracey says:

    Oh gosh, l have a bit of a problem with diarrhea too. But for me it\’s due to too many drugs and medication over the years. lf l have not used any narcotics for more than one day (they are constipating), l take a half lmmodium before l go to bed at night. lt helps prevent the morning discomfort. lt\’s not perfect, trial an error have shown me how much to use. l can empathise with the morning problem Mandy, thankfully no foods trigger it for me–it continues to be a morning thing IF l forget the lmmodium.l remember talking to the Dr. a few times. He always says eat high fibre, even though that seems a little contradictory. You know something l tried but couldn\’t tolerate, was iron supplements. They make me WAY too constipated–it had seemed to me, it\’s better to take something my body can use than the lmmodium.l know you don\’t want that! Because then gas can get trapped inside PAINFUL! lf you try iron, only every few days till you see how it affects you.

  12. Zeynep says:

    Hope you feel better soon. Did you talk to your doctor about all these?.. I like "thought of the day", lol. Love and peace, Zeynep xx

  13. Mandy says:

    @Jen, No I really meant thank you Jen, for going to the trouble, I have searched online, but always come up with the same answers. The probiotic thing though, now you remind me I did see some where, can\’t do the yogurts, but maybe I might try the drinks, See there in lies the problem, almost everyting I want to eat contains something of what I shouldn\’t! Yes Jen I just need something to make me confortable again!

  14. Mandy says:

    @ Tracey…….. The trouble with stopping the diarrhoea, is then I get all bloated, as you say trapped wind , pain …….. then NO ONE wants to be in the same room as me!!! LOL Maybe I need to spend a week in health farm on a "cleansing diet" …………….. now all I need is the money!

  15. Mandy says:

    @ Zey tomorrow back to see my doctor, glad you liked my little humour!

  16. Tracey says:

    l had to experiment with how much to use, so l could still have BMs but no diarrhea. Hope you find some kind of answer Mandy, l know that must really suck–the pain especially!

  17. Technogran says:

    Mandy as a fellow sufferer, all I can do is point you the way that I have found some relief for mine. Drink lot\’s of water during the day, (not too much though) cut out gluten and wheat as I have done. And caffeine as well. Cut down on coffee if you are a prevelant coffee drinker and consider going to relaxation classes. Lot\’s of suggestions I know but they have eased mine.

  18. Mandy says:

    Thanks TG, I know it\’s all about finding the balance! And the relaxation classes strikes a chord, my IBS seems to worsen at times of anxiety, not necessarily great anxiety either!I have joined the Gym, hopefully getting my body/system on the move again will help!

  19. Jeffrey says:

    Well, these are a lot of serious suggestions. I don\’t know if I could cut out these food, such as green vegetable, cabbage, spinach, dairy, etc., being a semi-vegi person. I am fortunate to not have this problem, but I know a couple people that do, and I understand how bad it can be. One friend of mine, a guy, has it. I believe in his case it is related to his having fibromyalgia. He has it, as does his sister. Also, another friend of mine, a woman has it, and she doesn\’t know the other two. But they do have something in common. They were all in Pennsylvania in 1979 very near Three Mile Island when it decided to melt down. Anyway, it\’s just a silly theory. And with all seriousness aside, I tell him on a regular basis the he could solve his problems by becoming anorexic or bulimic, and failing that, that he should eat nothing but mint leaves and rose petals, not that they are soothing to him in any way, you understand, but you get the idea. Another suggestion, don\’t fart while working. There is no plausible deniability for you. Anyway, I hope my pathetic attempt at humor has not offended you to much, and made you laugh a little. The only real advise I could offer is what you\’re already familiar with, but sometimes humor is the best medicine. I did leave the colostomy suggestion out though. Don\’t want the cure to be worse than the ailment. OK – I deserved that slap!

  20. Jen says:

    Gentle exercise is a must. And I mean gentle! It\’s like my physio said: You need to keep your \’innards\’ moving, which isn\’t a simple thing when trundling around in a wheelchair but he\’s quite correct. There\’s a word for this which escapes me at the moment. I\’ll have to ask Hubs, then you\’ll understand me better;-) Have a better day today, Mand.Peristalsis. That\’s it. Just remembered. Might not be spelled right but that\’s what I meant.

  21. melanie says:

    Mandy, you mention having the runs, but do you also get constipation with it? If so, try a small bowl of porridge made with water (not milk). I personally have found that this helps to ease that dreadful griping pain that all we IBS sufferers know!!!Like yourself, I am also a sufferer of depression, and not sure which of the conditions is the trigger for the other. I really do feel for you, it sounds like you are really suffering. Good luck with it! Mel

  22. Happy says:

    Hope there\’s been improvement…LOL, just got the don\’t hold your farts in cartoon. Duh, I can be agonizingly slow at times. Take care.

  23. Adam says:

    Last year I was diagnosed with IBS. The doctor switched my fiber supplement (from Metamucil to Miralax), gave me some pain pills (Dicyclomine) and some samples of a probiotic (Florastor) and sent me home. The stuff he gave me helped a little, but I was still having bad flares regularly.So I started looking into information on diets, cleansing, and naturalsolutions — and tried some of them. Now I\’ve gone more than two months without a flare :)I\’d try searching for holistic and diet answers – it worked for me!(If you want to see more about me and what I\’ve done, I started an IBS blog, at http://ibsreally.blogspot.com – feedback would be great!)

  24. Roy Carole says:

    Yes we will help you gid rid of this nasty IBS thing as my wife had a severe case for 10 years and now she is back to being healthy again. Have a look at http://www.irritablebowelsynd.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

