Back from the Edge

Back from a great holiday, having done some fun things, diving of course, which the pics show was pretty good! If a little colder than in July.  These pics were taken on our first and last dives on the house reef. The first pics are of Lion Fish, very pretty, but also quite deadly if you get pricked by those spines!

And some really good shots of a browsing turtle, these turtles eat sea grass, so it gives them a greenish tint, and they are not so skittish, so you can get up really close, to take pics, something I’ve never been able to do before!

Clown FishClown Fish, my favourites, they are such plucky little fish, and will come out and have a go, if you invade their patch! They don’t care how big you are

Clown Fish 

 

Table Coral                   Crocodile Fish                     Stone Fish

Mim Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ghostly figure or My buddy, Mim.                     Me

Me and a couple of old birds!!A day out in the desert, Dune hopping in a 4 wheel drive, followed by Quad bikes, round the desert, and a camel ride, (My bum is still sore!) The evening meal, cooked by the Bedouins and after that we sat on the top of the hills, watching the sun go down, behind the mountains.

 

 

Me             Mim         Karen

 Bedouin Sunset

 

 

    Then star gazing! With crystal clear skies, no ambient light at all, the stars and the Milky Way, shown to their full glory! (Photos could not do it justice)It would have been incredibly romantic, if I’d been there with a man, unfortunately, I was with the two women in the pic and the camera woman! …… OH WELL!

This entry was posted in Diving. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Back from the Edge

  1. Douglas says:

    Wonderful pictures. I was deep in Egypt back in 1986 while in the USAF and understand the night sky there and as an astronomer as a hobby, I apreciate the night there. Many adventures for sure. I\’ll never forget my first and second trips there. I am glad you had a wonderful time too…

  2. Mandy says:

    Thanks Doug, it was good fun, good if chilly diving! and that night sky ……. amazing! (even more so when the guide was pointing out the constellations, and we finally understood what he was saying …. as in Oree-on, Peesees, and the well known Towrus!)

  3. Jen says:

    Wow. I didn\’t get this on my updates. Stumbled across it by accident! Beautiful photos and it sounds like you lived a dream for a few days. I\’m so glad you enjoyed yourself. Didja see Jamies skiing pics? I picked through them yesterday. Mostly of blokes swilling beer in what must go for a pub over wherever he was but good, all the same!

  4. FATMAN says:

    Damn that makes me envious is all I can say but I will be back when I can think of something more intelligent haha

  5. Mandy says:

    @Jen, I didn\’t put the pics on of us swilling a variety of drinks, but there are a few!! Also a couple of evenings in a Sheesha Tent, with a hubbly bubbly! Interesting!

  6. Tracey says:

    Great pics Mandy! Wish l had been there! Would have loved to see that sky! l\’m so glad you had a good time!

  7. Jen says:

    You should see Jamie\’s site if he\’s in your network. Typical blokes gathering. They are fun! I think he put them on yesterday as that\’s when I got the update.

  8. Happy says:

    Welcome back Mandxx. Oh what wonders you have seen and shared. I have seen a clown fish at our aquarium but never a crocodile fish. I am in awe at what you have witnessed. You are very courageous. I like visiting to see your underwater adventures because am reminded there is another world/universe. Anyhoo…welcome back. Glad you had a safe trip and safe dives.

  9. Robin says:

    Wow Mandy, Great post, I love the picture\’s. So glad you had a good time, welcome back. It\’s late and I am off to bed but as soon as I get a chance I will check out the rest of the picture\’s. Thank\’s for sharing.Take care,Robin

  10. Rory says:

    Fantastic. Sure you had a great time. Excellent shots by the way, real treasures.

  11. Diana says:

    wow – great photos Mandxx – lucky you :)))

Leave a Reply

