Name that Band/Artist

 

This is a poster, that was bought out by Virgin Radio (as in Richard Branson’s VIRGIN)  about 4 years ago, for Virgin Radio to advertise going digital, in this poster are seventy odd, bands or artists.

Can you name them?

Now as it was a Virgin Promo, it stands to reason that all the bands or artists are on the Virgin label (or were) but I’ll accept any band or artist,

provided you can explain why!

bands

I’ll start you off with a couple of the more obvious ones.

Gorillaz and Scissor Sisters

Virgin Radio now Absolute Radio, is the best Rock station in England

unfortunately for the rest of England it’s only in the London area.

with listening average of 2million, oddly losing 20% of listeners when rebranding!

It’s the only station I listen to, except when my daughter has borrowed my car, and has switched over to KISS FM!

 

Don’t cheat now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Name that Band/Artist

  1. Cassie says:

    I\’ll add one—Pet Shop Boys

  2. Mandy says:

    YUP Cass!When I first saw this i got about 10 ……… course I know more answers now (bad memory permitting!

  3. Jen says:

    The Monkees – obvious! I\’ll keep looking…

  4. Jen says:

    Lovin\’ Spoonful?

  5. Jen says:

    Jefferson Airplane? Come on, the rest of you!

  6. Mandy says:

    Monkeys can\’t except …..coz it\’s already been named …..Gorillaz!

  7. Jen says:

    @Ray: Led Zeppelin were with Atlantic Records.

  8. Ray says:

    Sex pistols

  9. Jen says:

    Blur? and thanks, Mand! Forgot that!

  10. Mandy says:

    But that is the band, Jen,, they may have done something on Virgin (Don\’t shoot me here, but I was told they SHOULD all be VIRGIN labelled)

  11. Mandy says:

    Lovin spoonfuls no, but I see where you\’re coming from!

  12. Ray says:

    Guns n roses?

  13. Greg says:

    Left to right: Guns N Roses, Nine Inch Nails, Matchbox 20, Phish, Alice in ChainsBack Row: Rolling Stones, u2 (uu), Eagles

  14. Greg says:

    Whitesnake

  15. Mandy says:

    Well done Greg! 9 there!

  16. Jen says:

    It\’s tough when we have four major labels that took over all the little guys. It starts to get confusin\’! Sorry, I\’m thinking back to big radio features I\’ve done in the past and record labels was one of them, still ongoing! Record labels are my passion!Now, what else can I find…Howz about Starship?

  17. Greg says:

    Center, left-to-right: Madonna, Blues Brothers(?), Radiohead, Twisted Sister, Garbage, Black Crowes, Butthole Surfers(?)Back Row: Cypress HillStill can\’t quite put my finger on the queen in the front row. Are those supposed to be dildoes?

  18. Greg says:

    Sex Pistols, now I see it. LOL.

  19. Jen says:

    Hey Mand; Rolling Stones?

  20. Cassie says:

    well branson owns an airline and I think i found the zeppelin connection http://www.virgin-atlantic.com/en/cn/whatsonboard/inflightentertainment/audio/channel6.jsp

  21. Greg says:

    Over the door beside U2: Black Flag.

  22. Mandy says:

    Butthole surfers????LOL …… maybe beachboys!

  23. Mandy says:

    Ok lets forget label as I can\’t be sure (but was told) just if you can justify why!

  24. Ray says:

    boom town Rats

  25. Greg says:

    Lower left corner: Scorpions, Cake, Bush (in front of the cart)Center: Hole(?), Talking Heads(?)Back: Cars(?)Now I\’m just guessing…fun!

  26. Cassie says:

    Dang it! I liked my deduction. Led Zeppelin on Atlantic Records…Branson owning Virgin Atlantic with in-flight music BY Zeppelin…a promo for Virgin Records!I was all set to rent me a flat in Baker Street and then you say "Forget the label"I am so depressed I shall go and eat chocolate for an hour.

  27. Mandy says:

    yes to all of those, Greg ……… obviously your era(ish) Can I add one just cos i love her music ………PINK

  28. Cassie says:

    CARS? I thought it was the Coupe deVilles

  29. Ray says:

    Sixpence non the richer, or was that a song?…LOL

  30. Mandy says:

    No Cass it was good, and the link to why L.Z. was good too, but I think we\’re being out gunned (pun intended by Greg!

  31. Greg says:

    @ Ray – or it could be the famous 80\’s hair band, RATT.@ Jen – or could the spoon be a reference to the indie rock band Spoon?50 Cent (rap) is leaning against the curb, there\’s a Blind Melon on the fruit cart, and are those supposed to be "Lemonheads"?

  32. Mandy says:

    LOL this is making ME laugh!

  33. Jen says:

    Dunno, Greg. I\’ve never \’eard of them!

  34. Mandy says:

    Yes again Greg to all …… but you know every one hates a smart arse!! (put in here grinning, winking, tongue in cheek smiley)

  35. Greg says:

    Wonder if the corn on the produce stand is supposed to be KOЯN?

  36. Ray says:

    I\’m done …great fun Mandy. Have to go, my eyes hurt…Well done Greg!

  37. Cassie says:

    Just as you say, Mandy…sniff sniff…I shall try to bear up. Here I thought the spoon was a reference to Cibo Matto\’s hit (as featured on Buffy the Vampire Slayer) when Buffy…er…DANCES with Xander…Season 2 Episode 1

  38. Mandy says:

    40 so far I think!

  39. Mandy says:

    Hell don\’t feel bad Cass …. if it weren\’t for Greg, we\’d still be wallowing in the 20s

  40. Ray says:

    Arh one more, deep purple at the back.

  41. Mandy says:

    yeah it does that Ray! I made the pic as big as I could!

  42. Cassie says:

    @ Ray Whatcha mean Deep Purple at the back? I\’ve been seeing deep purple spots hovering before my eyes since I first started squinting at this blasted thing!

  43. Ray says:

    Lol….Too funny, Cass, but I do give up now….Cya. The purple building?

  44. Mandy says:

    I\’ll give you another, as it\’s difficult to see, next to Madona, poster on the wall, Dead Kennedys

  45. Mandy says:

    Yes Ray …..you got it!

  46. Greg says:

    Is that Seal on the poster by the dk\’s? Kinda hard to see…

  47. Cassie says:

    Oh, in case everyone has forgotten—Virgin\’s first release was waaay back in 1973(It was Mike Oldfield\’s TUBULAR BELLS)

  48. Mandy says:

    @Greg Yup …. I thought you\’d gone and every one else has run out!

  49. Mandy says:

    Tubular bells, wow! that long ago huh?

  50. Cassie says:

    Uh huh seems like only yesterday doesn\’t it?

  51. Mandy says:

    I was in Oz then, first son a year old!

  52. Jen says:

    New Kids On The Block, those two kids on the left of the picture, (but surely there were more of them in the org group)? So maybe not!

  53. Mandy says:

    No Jen that\’s Pet Shop Boys ……Cass got that one!

  54. Mandy says:

    Of course when this poster came out it was, poster sized and a lot easier to see!

  55. Mandy says:

    Well that\’s it for me … bedtime, nite all, have fun!

  56. Jen says:

    G\’night, Mand. Sleep well. No guessing this lot in yer dreams, aye!

  57. Tracey says:

    Wow what has been going on here?! – 63 comments!!Damn, l can\’t contribute, l listen to Kiss lol.

  58. Greg says:

    I\’ve got one more round of guesses, but then you have to come clean about a few of these.Between the Queen and Prince (is that supposed to be "the" Prince), I\’m seeing eels. Are those a bag of M&M\’s (Eminem) below the Scissor Sisters? Red Hot Chili Peppers on the veggie cart? Ok, I\’m spent.Now Mandy, you have to come clean with a few others. What\’s with (1) the fairies, (2) the chihuahua, (3) the girl blowing gum, (4) the white dude in front of the seal poster, (5) the gold dude on the corner, (6) the kissing girls, (7) the choir, (8) the thing on the crosswalk, (9) the cowboys near the underground entrance, (10) the people on the rooftop, and (11) the purple building.

  59. Mandy says:

    Off the top of my head, and the memory isn\’t so great but I will post the answers soon!As per your numbering Greg, 1, The pixies (My ex boyfriend big Pixies fan said they didn\’t have anything to do with Virgin, but nor did Led Zep, so maybe it wasn\’t all Virgin stuff? but he also suggested the Fairies which are a group though not perhaps as well known)2 Skinny Puppy3 Blondie ( I have no idea why the bubble gum!)4 White Zombie (? I have no idea)5 Yellow man6 Kiss7 Cowboy Junkies8 iron Maiden9 Cult (I think)10 has already been answered and…………………… Deep purple

  60. Ray says:

    Deep purple was the purple building Greg.

  61. Mandy says:

    I\’ll go have a look at the pic tomorrow but ones I can remember are, 1 Doors (by men in white Cult)2 Crowded House above U2 (uu)3 Carpenters (above 2)4 Matchbox 20 (next Prince 5 Alice in Chains (next Blur)6 Green Day (Calender under Red Hot chillies)7 Garbage (by the crossing8 White Stripes ( the crossing)9 Killers (The Blues bros)10 Corner Shop (Shop by white snake)11 Radiohead (the guy on the crossing)That\’s all for now ……. there is a few more but that can wait!

  62. Greg says:

    LOL. Green Day. Classic.

Leave a Reply

