For VJ.

It’s my youngest son’s 29th Birthday today,

And as I did for my daughter on her 21st birthday

five years ago, on his 25th birthday, I wrote him a poem.

 

My child My Pride

 

 

Copy of Picture 065

And so you are a man, my son
And do such things as men might do
Yet still you are my child, my son
And I will protect you!

And though you’ve grown, so tall so strong
With hands that make mine small
I’ll still hold them in my own
And help you when you fall

 

 

 

 

Picture 028And if when problems come your way
you feel that you can’t solve
I’ll be there to help, my son
There’s none we can’t resolve

And through the years I watched you grow
From child, to boy, to man
For me you’re still my child my son
And I’ll help you all I can!

 

 

 

If at my end I can look back
And know how hard you tried
To be the man you are today
my child, my son, my pride!

_______ 

And now I have to let you go
you give the love I’ve cherished so
To someone who will hold you near
And keep you safe …. as I have dear!

megasVinny, Kirsty

and daughter, Megan

for Vinny

Mandxx

This entry was posted in Poetry/ditties. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to For VJ.

  1. Jen says:

    Reading this made me feel very warm inside. Hope others get to see it, Mand.

  2. Cassie says:

    most heartwarming, mand. I loved it!

  3. Mandy says:

    I think so too Jen ….. And I wrote it!! (sniff)Thank you both!

  4. Bob says:

    that is touching, a wonderful prose.

  5. Jen says:

    Oh by the way; wish im a happy birthday from all us blog pickers!

  6. Technogran says:

    What a wonderful and thoughtful poem Mandxx. As another Mum who has seen her offspring grow from babe to men (and woman) its so touching to read this. And looking back, hasn\’t it all flown!

  7. Cassie says:

    Um…ditto to Jen\’s Post

  8. Cassie says:

    I was one of twins and I still remember the day (we were about 6 years old) when my Dad said "Let\’s keep this one and drown the other one."That was how I learned to swim.

  9. Tracey says:

    You made me cry! That is beautiful Mandy. And your son is gorgeous!

  10. Mandy says:

    Thankyou all!and Cass ……………LMAO!!!!!!

  11. Mandy says:

    @TG …….My god hasn\’t it just!! But one good thing (actually the only good thing) about getting older is, I can now remember 20 years ago better than I can remember yesterday!

  12. Jen says:

    Yeah Mand. The trouble is, we all get like that in the end. Hubby is having a go at writing his life story for his brother. He can remember more about 50-odd years ago han he can about what he had for dinner yesterday. I\’m getting like that, too:-)

  13. Tracey says:

    oh gosh. . .l don\’t like itaging

  14. Mandy says:

    no me neither Trace!!

  15. Jen says:

    Cheer up you two. Ya can\’t change it;)

  16. Cassie says:

    I think aging is FANTASTIC(The only real alternative sux)

  17. Tracey says:

    OK l try to have a good attitude – when l remind myself. But there\’s nothing good about failing eyesight or memory, aching muscles and bones. l absolutely agree there are some GREAT things to being older and wiser. l\’m kinder now but also better at being assertive. l believe that everyone must take me seriously, therefore they do-l like that.

  18. Jen says:

    Yippee, Cass. So right about sux. Spelled it right, too;)

  19. Mandy says:

    I\’m not sure about wiser ……I still make the same mistakes, I just know I\’m doing them, before I do them now!!I think I have more patience, and on some days more confidence!

  20. Tracey says:

    Cassie you have a good memory!! Thanks for the link – made my day, l put it in a blog. That\’s a lot of videos lately, l better write a serious blog SOON.

  21. Tracey says:

    l make some of the same mistakes too, others not. l think l\’m getting better.ln personality – physically – not so much lol.

  22. Tracey says:

    Logging off for now. Let me know what you think about the show mand.

  23. Mandy says:

    Will watch it tomorrow when all you guys are asleep! have agood evening Trace!!

  24. Jen says:

    See ya, Tracey. Take care.

  25. Ian says:

    Well, you have definitely discovered the Secret, and I don\’t mean Victoria\’s. Well, to be honest, I probably do.

  26. Douglas says:

    Mandy;Wonderful poem, and I\’ll tell you why… (Takes drag of cigarette, sits id own in the ash tray and turns up the "Date With The Smithereens).Because it capsules the love you have for your family, straight forward, and meaningful.I read other poetry out here on MSN, most of which is pretty good, some very good, and there\’s the exceptions that blows y socks off.I cannot write poetry, every time I do, it turns into a novel or something. I\’ll just stick to what I know. I read some of your other work. I cannot encourage you enough to write something. I write every day, some days better than others. Keep writing, and I\’ll come by and read it, (Takes another drag…)Your Friend,Doug…

  27. Douglas says:

    Wow, sorry I must be a lttle stoned… <it>, <capsulates>, <my> Yeah, so what? I\’m high…

  28. Mandy says:

    Hey! pass some of that over here Doug!Thankyou Doug, I\’ve always considered myself a bit Chocolate boxy in the poetry field…….. but I do like writing it, and will from time to time put something on here!

  29. Douglas says:

    Oh, Mandy — I donno if you want some of this. I mean this is from my own garden. "White Rhino!"Now this puts a new hymn in my kilt… My vaporizer is on "overtime" and besides, I have a cold, well I thought I did. I\’ll be turning in, in again, and on, over, through under, yup I\’m going to bed soon. Maybe the Mrs is still sleeping… <enter sinister music>Damn, I love this stuff…I am s happy as a two-pickered puppy — Excuse the expression.

  30. Happy says:

    Oh what a wonderful tribute. You\’re a good, proud mom.

Leave a Reply

