When you Sleep

When You Sleep

And now you’re gone, I see you smile

And wish you’d stayed for just a while

I held your hand, I held your face

And with a kiss, your pain erased

And deep inside, you, I try to keep

And I still hold you, when you’re asleep

 

And with the night, black seeps inside

Into my heart this pain I hide

And the hardest part is letting go

But still I must, this part I know

And as tears hold back I try not to weep

And I still hold you, when you sleep

 

And as years go by and memory fades

I let in the light, open up the shades

The smile reflected in my eyes

Means pain now gone was just past’s lies

And to my lips this smile is creeping

And I still hold you, when I am sleeping!

 

And as I look up, and see you grown

A woman now, your on your own

Elegant and tall and full of grace

Fair of mind and fair of face

A child no more, sets men’s hearts leaping

And I still hold you when you’re sleeping…..!

Mandxx

For Jerri-Lee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When you Sleep

  1. Mandy says:

    Great poem!

Leave a Reply

